Ego Boost and Lesson for the Day

Yesterday, I had lunch with a friend and former co-worker who just completed several months of intensive chemo for Stage 4 Esophogital Cancer. What’s worse is that he voices radio and tv commercials for a living and the disease attacked his main work instrument. How cruel is that? What originally appeared to be a “lost cause” has turned into a miracle as my friend is now cancer-freaking free!! Take that cancer. He is a lesson in prayer, perserverance, exerise, medicine, hope and self-love.

Anyways, as we were walking out of the restaurant, he said, “Oh my Gosh…Have you lost weight?”

“Umm…perhaps. I really don’t weigh myself because I get depressed.”

“Well, you look fantastic.”

I don’t know if he was just being polite or if he truly noticed a difference, but it worked. I felt lighter, drove back the office and indulged in a piece of chocolate because I deserved it! After all, as he so eloquently reminded me, you must always savor your life and all that comes with it.

2 thoughts on “Ego Boost and Lesson for the Day

  1. Hey girlie…I’m sure you look fabulous! You have the world by the tail. I’ll keep your friend in my prayers. Love, friendship & good health to everyone in 07!

Leave a Reply

