Today, I Rode

Self-Portrait of a Happy Triathlete

Today, I rode.
I rode outdoors.
I rode because I wanted to and not because I had to.

I thought a lot…
…about friends who were having surgery.
…about friends who couldn’t be riding with me.
…about what it meant for me to be on my bike on this beautiful January morning all by myself.
…about where I wanted it to take me physically, mentally and emotionally.

Today, I rode.
I rode fast.
I rode slow.
I climbed hills that felt like mountains.
I descended hills that felt like canyons.
The wind was in my face.
The wind was at my back.
The roads were familiar, and yet so different.

Today, I rode.
I rode outdoors.
I rode because I wanted to and not because I had to.

For that, I’m grateful.
(and a wee bit sore)

One thought on “Today, I Rode

Leave a Reply

