Intro to Lil Dude

Image

 

Somebody recently told me that I’m a cross between Jillian Michaels and Tina Fey. I took it as a compliment. Part humorist and part relentless motivator, I honestly believe that you can accomplish anything in life as long as you’re not afraid to laugh at yourself a little along the way.

A bonafide tomboy and youth athlete, it wasn’t until I became embarrassingly lazy, complacent and overweight in my mid-20s that I decided to put down the fork, turn off the TV, and face my fears. For me, those fears involved walking into a real running store, buying a pair of real running shoes and signing up for a marathon training program. That was 2001. Since then, I’ve gone from a back-of-the pack athlete to top age grouper. And somewhere along the way, I’ve earned the right to be called a Marathoner, Triathlete, Wife, Ironman, Writer and now, Coach.  It is my hope to motivate others to face and overcome their own fears, whether it’s buying your first pair of running shoes or finishing yet another Ironman distance race.

Since my very humbling (and often humorous) beginnings in marathons and triathlons, I’ve gone on to compete in multiple running and triathlon events including the Inaugural 70.3 World Championships in Clearwater in 2006, The Boston Marathon and five full Ironman Triathlons. In addition, I’m honored to have been a member of the Erin Baker’s Wholesome Baked Goods National Triathlon Team from 2009-2012.  And, just this past Spring, I was selected to be one of five Specialized Women Ambassadors in the country. My role? Get women of all levels on bikes!

In addition to training and coaching, I’m a freelance writer and contributor for Austin Fit MagazineTrainingpeaks.com,Ironman.com and LAVA Magazine, pontificating about those things I love most: sports, nutrition, and running straight through the obstacles that you would otherwise swerve around or avoid altogether.  I advocate a plant-based diet and support others interested in making this life-changing transformation.

This journey has taken me to some amazing places. It’s not just the race venues, though. It’s what this sport has done for my heart, mind and soul that I appreciate the most and hope to share with the athletes I coach.

Leave a Reply

