The Young Author’s Conference

I’m a student of the Oprah Winfrey/The Secret era. I listen to my daily Oprah/Deepak meditations, compile my gratitude lists, and create my vision boards. At the beginning of the year, I posted pictures of books to my vision board. Like most people with blogs who fancy themselves a decent writer, I wanted to write a book. Who the hell doesn’t? Unfortunately, I didn’t have a stinkin’ clue what I wanted to write about. Truth be told, this blog is developing, in part, to write more personal essays about my ridiculous past. It’s a way for me to pick an experience or a memory and simply write about it. I was born a Lil’ Dude. It’s in my blood. So, yeah, I’ve always wanted to be an author since I was invited to the Young Author’s Conference at the ripe old age of seven. I wrote a little book and someone liked it enough to call me a writer for a day. Trust me, that’s the shit that sticks with a seven-year-old…Well, that, and being made fun of for having ridiculously large boobs at such a young age. 

Well, as of yesterday, I’m hunt for the next Young Author’s Conference, or the 40-year-old WannaBe Author’s Conference. On November 19, 2013, I became a published author when I went to this Amazon.com page and saw this:

Image

Yep. I wrote my first downloadable e-book. Sure, it’s about triathlon with a very niche’ audience, but I’ve always been told to write what I know. For better or worse, this is a sport that I know. As the landing page says, “Not sure which triathlon is the right one for you? Demystify the distance decision process with the BabyBird Guide to Triathlon, a book you can read in 30 minutes. Providing details on various race distances is just the beginning. This packed-full guide includes other important considerations, like related costs, training requirements, and personal sacrifices required to increase your chances for a successful and fulfilling race day.”

It’s not so much a training book as it is a “self help” book for triathletes. I give them training tips, but the majority of the book discusses factors to consider when deciding which distance to race. People don’t always realize that not only is an IRONMAN a long distance, it’s also an incredibly costly endeavor that will set you back literally thousands of dollars. 

It’s the first of (I hope!) many titles to come and this is just the beginning. I wonder what the hell I’ll put on next year’s vision board?!

 

Leave a Reply

