2014 Adventure Recap

How is it already Christmas?? I’m totally playing the old person role here when I say that time is just slipping away way too fast these days. This year was another one of growth and continuously bursting out of my comfort zone to explore new avenues of education, adventure, and trying not to screw things up. (Oh who am I kidding? Every day is an “imperfect action” day in my world.)

For the second year, I was honored to be selected as an Ambassador for Specialized Women Bikes.  Their new slogan is “Your Ride, Your Rules” and that couldn’t ring more true to how this year has been personally and professionally. My 2014 ride has taken me to some scary places and some laugh-out-loud exhilarating places. It has been dizzying enough to need a break, but exciting enough to look forward to what lies ahead in 2015.  I’ve got my bike cleaned and my shoes laced up. Bring it.

The video above is a recap of my 2014 work as an ambassador for Specialized. In addition to riding a kick-ass bike, I also get to lead rides, host clinics and plan events with the sole purpose of getting people on bikes and helping women overcome their fear of being on two wheels. I’ve learned (thankfully), that you don’t have to be the fastest or the most elite athlete in order to coach and teach others.  You simply have to meet people where they are at and then help guide them to where they want to be. In other words, you have to be empathetic and relatable. In all honesty, that’s an easy place for me to be because I know what it’s like to be a beginner; I know what it’s like to be last or to feel slower than everyone else. I’ve been there and, in many cases, will always be there.

Being an ambassador of health and fitness has given me many rewards, but the best of all is that at the end of the day, it just has to be FUN.

Leave a Reply

