Bearing My Cross-Cyclocross, That Is!

Excuses, Excuses

I don’t have the right bike.
I don’t need another bike.
I don’t want to get injured.
I’m a triathlete so I’m terrible at bike handling skills.
I’m too old for this sh*t!

Oh, I had all the excuses for why I shouldn’t try the sport of cyclocross, a form of bike racing in parks and on grass that is an incestual blend of steeplechase, NASCAR, parkour, cross-country running, mountain biking, and a frat party.

Still, though, the pull of this insanity was undeniable to this middle-aged tomboy. I’d been lurking online and at clinics for about two years, expressing interest to whoever would listen that I really wanted to try this sport. I love dirt and I love riding my bike. After 15 years as a road triathlete, I was ready to try something new. But, was I ready to fail at something new?

Read my entire article in Austin Fit Magazine HERE

Leave a Reply

